Requests from an LD

Version 0.97.2

First I’d like to say this software is already superior to its competition so well done on a great start. As a lighting designer some of our needs in the MIDI and OSC world are a bit different then those in music and that’s primarily because the lighting consoles have technical limitations in the kinds of signals they can take as an input. Some things I love about the software already are the way the color system works, the grid system and GUI are great and I see lots of potential for NDI integration. Sorry for the long post but I’ve been keeping notes as I’ve been working my way thru this project and as a novice programmer I understand a lot of these requests are easier said then done.

Here are some feature requests in order of importance:

1. Button that changes Workspaces = For my system to work I need to be able to program a button to change the workspace. This way I can have a “Home Page” with 30 buttons on it and each one goes to a different workspace.

2. Text Restrictions = a bunch of my personal show syntax uses symbols that are unavailable as a text input. Primarily I’m looking for < and > but a real space would be nice too and the more options the better.

3. Multiple Selection of Widgets = Creating layouts can be pretty tiresome without being able to select and duplicate more then 1 widget at a time. Either by holding shift or having some kind of lasso selection tool.

4. Duplicate Workspace = I will have many workspaces that are similar except for some labeling and midi notes. The ability to duplicate a workspace would save a lot of time.

5. Different MIDI Note when Toggle Off = If the Toggle OFF note is the same as the Toggle ON note then the console won’t match what OSC Pilot displays. For toggle to work properly with lighting consoles we would need a MIDI note for the ON and a separate one for the OFF.